aaand it’s done

I have finally completed my Capstone project and submitted it. It is a milestone of sorts and completing it has left a sort of blank in my life. You can see some of the documentation here.

https://naganandini.wixsite.com/capstone

I hope to continue writing, drawing, thinking and making and use this blog to reach out to more people.

What was the project about?

My central question is how making could build the timeless capability of discernment; ie. to perceive and choose ethically and wisely. We learn through both the body and the mind and thinkers like MK Gandhi, Rabindranath Tagore and Seymour Papert have reiterated this. I experimented with ways of making, worked with students and read texts.

In design education, we largely use recipe making, and we need to include more playfulness and reflection through hands-on making. I use the analogy of a landscape to depict makerscapes that connect the building of making, thinking and discernment.

Making keeps us grounded and we are nourished by the earth. The sun, and warm and cool breezes feed us too, but without the earth, we would be drifting, lost in our intellect, with no anchor.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑